A snake, but what to get?

Discussion in 'General Snakes' started by nuggular, Jun 6, 2005.

1. nuggular

nuggular Well-Known Member

I was thinking of a corn snake. But I really want to do a viv for a snake. I guess I could just go and find plants that need low watering. Is there any kind of snake that needs high humidity that doesnt get so big. 3-4 ft is about all I have room for. I have many other reptiles so I am not a beginner here. Just never had a snake before.

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. BoyntonStylez

BoyntonStylez Member

beginner!! lol just kidding, nug. umm ... i dunno. cornsnakes are the only little ones i know of .. blood pythons get betwen 4 - 6 feet, get one of those! do a google search on pythons and look at the different pythons. that what i did and found the blood. then when i knew what snake i wanted, i did a good search on that particular snake to figure out if that was the one i really wanted. maybe do that with the word 'colubrid' and see what happens. maybe look into snakes that are navtive to fl, cuz it's sure hot here.

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. SatanicIntention

SatanicIntention New Member

There are Rosy Boas, Kenyan Sandboas, Kings, Corns, Milks, African House Snakes(look like pythons but are colubrid), Ribbon snakes.

Blood pythons are terrestrial snakes and will not do well in a naturally planted viv that. Plus, they can get upwards of 7-8ft for large females.

Corns will not do well in high humidity. African House Snakes are very neat and are semi-arboreal. I don't believe they get very big, 2.5-3ft max. Look at Cherryville Reptiles at http://www.cherryvillereptiles.com/

6. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

7. nuggular

nuggular Well-Known Member

Thx for the info guys. I guess I will just have to look around and find me a grate snake that I just love and want. :)

8. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

9. BoyntonStylez

BoyntonStylez Member