Another Newbie here with Questions

Discussion in 'Uromastyx' started by baron2628, Sep 9, 2010.

1. baron2628

baron2628 Embryo

Hi everyone,
    I have a new yellow niger Uromastyx. She is about 4 months old and about 6-7 inches long. I have been having trouble getting her to eat anything. I have only had her since Monday the 6th, it is now the 9th and I haven't seen her eat a bite of food. She was very active in checking out her new environment when I brought her home. Now all she does is sleep and sometimes try to climb up the sides of the tank. (She is in a 55 gal., but I don't know the demensions right now, I'm actually at work as I post this message.) Other than that, nothing. I have offered squash, zucchini squash, red and green bell peppers, grapes, apples, and a bit of ramane lettuce. I do know that the only daily thing on that list is the squash, but I've been trying to offer a variety until I know she is eating, then I will regulate staples from rotationals and occasionals. What could be wrong? I've called the petstore to tell them my concerns and they said to just keep offering different things. They said to give her another day or two and after that I should take her to a vet.

I thought I might try to offer some other stuff I know is good for the staple diet, but I don't know where to buy them. I looked at Walmart and had now idea where any of this stuff was or what it even looks like. The things I was searcing for were curly endive, frisee salad, escarole, alfalpha plant, cactus plant/pad, and cactus pear/prickly pear.

Where on earth do I buy these things? Also with the dandelions, where do you get those? Your front yard during the summer? I really want this little lizard to have the best diet I can provide, but I can't seem to find any of these good daily foods. Can you help?