Ball or Burmese python?

Discussion in 'Other Pythons' started by Whitts94, Sep 28, 2014.

?

Ball or Burmese python?

1. ???

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. ?????

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Whitts94

Whitts94 Embryo

IMG_7999.JPG
    e.jpg
    FullSizeRender.jpg

hi all im new to this and am after some advice, I have taken this fella on as a friend was moving away hes 3 foot 10 and very nippy (has tried biting me a few times only caught me once lol) im trying to find out what type of python he / she is poss age etc.

thanks

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

Definitely a ball python (Python regius).

You won't be able to tell the gender accurately without probing the animal, which is a task best left to someone with experience to prevent harming him/her. I would just name it what you want and arbitrarily assign it a gender, lol.

As for age, this is hard to tell. Generally speaking, the adult size of a male is smaller than females (males usually 3.5-4.5ft, females usually 4-5.5ft... but there can be exceptions). It's difficult to determine age without knowing how long the previous owner had the animal and what kind of care it was given. A 3yr old snake raised slowly might look like a powerfed 2yr old... And a 5yr old animal might be indistinguishable form a 10yr old. Given the photos and size it looks like a subadult to adult male or subadult female, but this is purely speculation on my part.