Cage Setup

Discussion in 'Other Colubrids' started by Star, Sep 6, 2004.

1. Star

Star Embryo

I need some help, this is my first time owning a reptile ever. I have a 1 yr old cornsnake. I have had her for a few months now. I just feel like i need some help with the setup in her cage. I have a 20gallon terrarium (30"long, 13"high, 12"wide). I'm using a lamp for heat, which i'm not sure is the best thing. The temp during the day is between 85-95degrees, night is around 70degrees.
    I'm thinking about starting to use a different kind of substrate so i don't have to take apart the whole cage for a small clean up. Also is a under the tank heater better?
    Should I move the water to the center?
    I'm so lost....
    Here are some pics:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

by the way isn't she so cute!

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. susyq

susyq Member

yer she is cute. in all my setups i use a combo of a normal light and an under tank heatmat at one end, these are then wired together using a connector block which is then wired to a dimmer switch which makes it adjustable. the temps i have are 80 degrees F at the hot end going down to 65-70 degrees F at the cool end. i have 2 hides one at each end, where the snakes can either go inside or lay on top of them. i use 6mm pea gravel as a substrata and have the water in the middle, my snakes love to burrow in the gravel. hope this helps :D

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. susyq

susyq Member

oh and i use a 36" x 18" x 12" tank :D

6. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

7. Markey

Markey New Member

I just switched from the cage carpeting to the reptile bark (fir shavings). I love the look of the reptile bark!
    I have a uth and I think it works great. Your snake needs that belly heat to aid in digestion.
    I also use overhead lighting...I have a 50 watt day bulb specifically made for reptiles as well as a 50 watt night bulb. My warm side stays around 82 degrees.