Cranky Rainbow Boa

Discussion in 'Boas' started by bighair, May 20, 2004.

1. bighair

bighair Embryo

My 2 year old Columbian Rainbow Boa has become suddenly aggressive! I'd had him at school (I'm a teacher) and could see he was not getting enough humidity. He had stopped eating, and was extremely lethargic and dried out, no matter how much I misted him. I brought him back home, bought a humidifier and within 10 days, he'd recovered by shedding and finally excreting. As soon as he shed, he fed immediately. That was a week ago. Now, whenever I've opened his terrarium, he snaps repeatedly and takes a very aggressive stance, coiling and making an "S". What happened? I used to handle him all the time. He'd always been very gentle. Any ideas? Could the humidifier noise be making him cranky? Causing a mold? How should I proceed with him?

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. biochic

biochic Well-Known Member

He's in a new enclosure surrounded by smells and noises he's never encountered before. I think the best thing to do is to treat him like he's a new acquisition. Leave him alone, no handling, for the next couple of weeks, then see how things work out. If it's possible, don't feed him in his cage, maybe you can move him with a snake hook. He could also still be hungry if it had been a while since he had eaten. I'd try feeding him again, with tongs, and you may want to get a thick pair of leather work gloves to have on hand in case you do need to handle him in the interim. He probably just needs time and a little space to get him back into the swing of things.

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. BoaMan

BoaMan New Member