Do you personally know someone whos boa has tried to strangle someone?

Discussion in 'Boas' started by Crazy4Herps, Dec 30, 2008.

?

Do you personally know someone whos boa has tried (or has) to constrict him/her?

1. Yes

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. *

No

1 vote(s)
    100.0%
  1. Crazy4Herps

Crazy4Herps Hooked on Reptiles

If yes, please comment and tell me about it.

I'm trying to convince certain people in my family to get a boa, but they're scared it will get too big and try to constrict someone...

And nobody really cares (myself included :D ) if I get bit, so that's not an issue.

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. Crazy4Herps

:D haha the top looks funny. Sorry, this is my first poll; I'm still learning.

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. jeffg46

jeffg46 New Member

I would point out that snakes in general will only constrict something they think they can eat. Biting can be a "fear" reflex, if flight is not an option, but they will die if they try to kill and/or eat anything bigger and stronger than they can handle. That said, if the person in question is small enough to fit through the head and down the throat of the snake in question, they should be concerned. Barring that, there should be no worries.

On the flip side, if they are truly concerned a snake might not be a good fit for them. If the snake senses fear in the person handling it regularly, it might never feel secure. That could lead to a bitey snake that doesn't like being handled. The last thing any pet owner wants is for the animal to dictate the terms of the relationship. In a naturally wild animal, it will always choose to be left alone. Unless the person is content just watching it (some snakes , chameleons, etc. are so beautiful they're worth it) that is not a good option.

My 2 cents.

Jeff

6. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

7. Crazy4Herps