Feeding

Discussion in 'Anoles' started by michelle2009, Sep 27, 2008.

1. michelle2009

michelle2009 Embryo

I'm new here and I have been researching green anoles for a few months now and I have decided to get one. I have 2 bearded dragons so I have a large variety of worms that I breed already (along with crickets which I hate). One of my questions is could I feed small hornworms and silkworms?

Also what brand of UVB fluoresent tube is the best? I got a setup from a family member that they had for 2 anoles and it has an exo terra repti-glo Tropical Terrarium 5.0 tube one......BUT i also have extras (all new of course) of the Repti-sun 10.0's from my beardies.....so which one?

Thanks

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. Rawksan

Rawksan Embryo

Hi Midnight,

I see absolutely no problem in feeding hornworms and silkworms to anole, but you have to be careful about the size. For a male, the worms can be as big as 1 to 1½ inch. For female, which a generaly smaller, I offer them worms of ½ to 1 inch. These aren't exact measures, you will see it will depend on your anoles, and how they eat them. But silkworms and hornworms are very good food items!

The best brand for fluorescent for tropical species such as anoles is IguanaSun 5.0. Others are fine too. In any cases, they really should be changed not less often than every 6 months.

I think 10.0 is alot for anoles. Too much uvb has been proven dangerous for the eyes of certain reptile species. It has not been proven dangerous in anoles, but it has not been proven safe either, so I would stick with 5.0 ones. As long as the neon and the basking sources are installed properly, 5.0 have always been sufficient to anoles.

Roxane

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. michelle2009

michelle2009 Embryo