first time snake owner: so many choices!

Discussion in 'General Snakes' started by Bodie, May 7, 2006.

1. Bodie

Bodie New Member

I am having difficulty choosing a snake! Its my first time..so you guys think you can help me decide?
    -size:I have a 20 gallon tank. If the snake needs a larger tank then I am willing to go up to MAX 30 gallons.
    -temperment: I want a snake that I can hold and is pretty non-aggressive. Non venemous as well of course.
    -I want it to be pretty and colorful.

I was thinking along the lines of corns, kingsnakes, or boas.

looking at what I have here..what do you suggest?

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. BloodRainChild

BloodRainChild New Member

well i just got my first snake and i bought a corn because i heard it's the easiest. kingsnakes are easy too but grow a lil larger (i have heard). if you only have a 20 gallon (long i hope) i would go with a corn. any they have a million colors so you have your own pick...hehe

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. Bodie

Bodie New Member

The only thing is: I heard that corns arent very holdable. I want something that is going to be a bit sociable and not just dart across the floor whenever I get it out of its habitat.

6. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

7. CornyGuy

CornyGuy Well-Known Member

Corns are very handleable. Very well tempered, docile, snakes. They are just a little more active. When you hold them they are always moving, as opposed to a Boa or Python.

A minimum for a Corn is a 30 gallon. A 20 would be fine for quite a while. They come in many pattern and color morphs. All of them are very beautiful.

Ball Pythons are another option you should consider. But they will require atleast a 40 gallon as an adult. Rosy or Kenyan Sand Boas will do great in a 20 gallon. Also very calm snakes. Most will never bite a human in their lifetime.

There's several options. It's really your choice, Good luck with your decision. :wink:

8. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

9. MAtt!123