Found a turtle

Discussion in 'Turtles' started by KLiK, May 9, 2004.

1. KLiK

KLiK Well-Known Member

Hey guys I am new to the whole turtle experience and I recently found 1 walking down the street from my house. I live in the Bronx and in a very urban area so I know that it had to belong to someone. So I decided to rings some bells and ask people if it was theirs. Everyone said no so I decided to keep it. Now the thing is I don't know what type it is. I thought it was a red eared slidder but I relized that there was no red marks on the sides of its head. Other than that it looks exactly like one. Right now I have it in a temporary cage and I am planning on making one and what I want to know is what would I really need for it? Would I need a filter? I know I need a heat sorce. But what else would I need to keep him alive and happy.

Thanx for all your help.

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. cd

cd Member

This may be a stupid question because I know almost nothing about turtles at all, but could it be a yellow eared slider? I've seen a couple of them before, and they seem to be very similar to the red ears, but with a yellow strip where the red stripe would be.
    -Cristine

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. KLiK

KLiK Well-Known Member

i didnt even know they existed but it might be due to the fact it does have yellow ears

6. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

7. cd

cd Member

8. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

9. KLiK

KLiK Well-Known Member

cd thanx for the help. i did find out what it was...a painted turtle. here is a picture i found on google. this is exactly what it looks like except the 1 i have is a little bigger i found the picture on google [​IMG]

10. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

11. cd

cd Member

What a cutie! I'm glad you found out what he is :)
    -Cristine

12. biochic

biochic Well-Known Member