Green Anole help please :(

Discussion in 'Anoles' started by scarycrow, May 4, 2012.

1. scarycrow

scarycrow Embryo

Hi, I got my green anole about 6 months ago now, she is green all the time and seems happy and eats mealworms when not watched " I had to set up a web cam to watch her cause I was scared she was not eating". She eats about 50-70 mealworms a month and is pretty fat. She shedded 3 times so far and grew alot since I got her.

The thing is I am new to reptile ownership and am still unsure of alot of things. The pet store owner told me that his plastic cage with a mesh roof would be a perfect cage "it is about 10+ gallons not sure exactly tho"

So I feed her mealworms with calcium and a odd cricket which she stares at like a devil until i kill it then she runs over and eats it.....

Now recently there has not been much sun out and she is I think shedding again. Her eyes are closed and they are not swolen or cut or anything else wrong with them. She lets me hold her and spends time sitting on me for I think warmth.

Here is the big problem it looks like there is dried "dead" skin on her feet tail and head. She has not open her eyes all day but runs around if her tail is touched. She is green with "maybe brown spots" they do not appear brown to me just like dried dead skin. I was wondering if the lack of sun could be a problem.

For sun she is in a tank where half is touched by the sun and the other half isn't. I open the window so the uvb can come though the mesh top and give her the uvb she needs. Also there is some banana baby food in there she never eats but the vet told me to put it and a water dish she never uses either. There has never been a problem in 6 months until the sun started to skip town for a while.

Is something wrong with my girl? Or is she just shedding again and not opening her eyes cause she can't?