help! lie to landlord? tell the truth? or don't say anything at all?

Discussion in 'Reptile Law & Legislation' started by jkatzenfutter, Apr 29, 2011.

1. jkatzenfutter

jkatzenfutter New Member

Hi everyone. I'm moving from New Jersey to either Queens or Long Island in the Fall and this is my first time moving out of my parents house. I have a dog, a cat, a corn snake, a bearded dragon, and a crested gecko. I knew that I would have a tough time finding an apartment because I have a dog, but now, I'm worried about my reptiles. A lot of people are uneasy about them when they really shouldn't be. I'm sure there are a lot of experienced owners on here and I wanted to ask:

When looking for apartments, should I mention my reptiles? I never thought of it as an issue before, because my entire family (except me) is afraid of and hates my reptiles, but they don't even notice them because I keep their habitats so clean (they are almost like a decoration on a table in my room haha). Am I screwed? :D please help.

-julia

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. Cammy

Cammy ReptileBoards Addict

Have you ever heard the saying, "Everything I need to know I learned in kindergarten?" I think this is one of those times. Remember what you learned about lying as a kid? How a lie can turn into much more trouble than a difficult truth? Think of the stress alone that keeping your pets without saying anything would cause you. Plus, imagine if you got caught. You'd either end up with an unexpected, hefty, monthly fee (and I know NY apartments are not cheap to begin with), or you'd be asked to leave or get rid of the animals. None of those is a good choice, not for your or your pets.

I swear I'm not trying to lecture you, and I'll get off my high horse now, haha. :p

But look! I found useful things! (I think...)

http://www.retothemax.com/pet-friendly

http://www.peoplewithpets.com/