im new to chameleons

Discussion in 'Chameleons' started by leighann, Mar 26, 2009.

1. leighann

leighann Embryo

hi everyone, hows it going?
    i went to a reptile exop on sunday and i got a baby abilobe panther chameleon.
    i was wounding if anyone had any tips that i could get in on so i know that i take care of my new baby properly. i heard they die very easily and i really DONT want that. shes a pickish color, she has 3 diferent types of fake leaves and i put a real plant also, she has vines, humiditi bark for the bottom. she has a water dish and i put a oxygen pump in it so the water moves around and i aso mist her 2 times a day.
    i do have one question... does noie stress them out? i have 2 dogs and they love to run around and temd to bark wen they get to exited and the oxygen pump makes a lil noise and vibrates, is it stressing her out?????

thanks

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. Jayme

Jayme New Member

Hello leighann.

I've owned chameleons for a short stint, but due to improper research I failed to successfully care for them. So my number one tip is to do your research. Even the 'hardy' chameleons are not easy to care for.

Chameleons are easily stressed, so I also recommend that you rarely handle your chameleon, if ever (especially while it is a baby), except for necessary instances such as cage cleaning and vet trips.

I know from reading a website in the above link that chameleons do not have very good hearing, but I don't know about the vibrations. If you're uncertain, it might be better to not risk it and keep her in a low activity area of the house.

Hope this helps,
    Good luck! :lol:

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. leighann

leighann Embryo