Major Newbie Needs Advice on Tegus

Discussion in 'Monitors & Tegus' started by techrev, May 25, 2005.

1. techrev

techrev Embryo

Greetings to everyone and first let me say thanks in advance to anyone who can help me out. I'm very new to the world of reptiles. The only experience I had was owning a small iguana named Pugsly (named after Linda Hamilton's iguana in The Terminator). That was many years ago and haven't had another pet since.

My roommates and I are very interested in getting a Black and White Tegu. We very much like the colors and the sturdy nature of them. I have been doing a lot of research and many people say they are highly intelligent and tameable which definately interests me (which is why I might choose a tegu over an australian water dragon). We live in a 3 bedroom apartment with cathedral ceilings (15 feet high) and are capable of building a 8ft long x 4ft wide x infininate inch high habitat without problems. In fact we have a temendous amount of head room and were planning on building custom climbing areas well above the room. We also have half a guest room available.

There is a good Herpologist also about 3 miles away from us whom was able to tell me a little bit about some of the medical needs I will have to consider but I wanted to talk with owners about how Tegu are to take care of and who can tell me a little bit more about the feeding and habitat building process? I know about substrate from reading online but I know there must be more to it than just laying down Eucalyptus mulch and calling it a day *smile*

I'd like to have as much information as possible before building this custom structure (We built all of our shelving and desks from scratch. We enjoy carpentry) and before I make a purchase.

I'm looking forward to being a part of this forum and I definately am open to any and all suggestions. Please be patient with me and thank you again in advance for the help/advice.

Elaine