My baby bearded dragon won't eat.

Discussion in 'Bearded Dragons' started by Rikki, Sep 5, 2013.

1. Rikki

Rikki Embryo

My baby bearded dragon(I'm not sure if about 6 months counts as a baby, but...) hasn't eaten in 3 weeks, and I don't know what could be the problem. I clean her tank daily, change her water and food, and she still won't eat. It's gotten to the point where she can barely open her eyes and hardly moves around her tank anymore. She used to be very active up until three weeks ago, and I can't think of anything I could have changed besides her light bulb, which used to have the daytime light on 24/7 because the nighttime one broke. Now she switches between the two, but I'm not sure if that could have affected her this badly.
    I'm only a student, and I'm not sure if I can do anything, but I still want to do whatever I can so she doesn't die young. I don't want her to die hating me.

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

Hi Rikki,

3 weeks is a long time to go without food for a juvenile dragon and the symptoms you explain suggest either improper husbandry or illness. I'll have to ask for a few additional details so that we can hopefully rememdy any husbandry issues. Sometimes this is enough to get the animal un-stressed and willing to behavior normally again, but at the very least we can try to provide as optimal an environment as possible to ensure a faster recovery if it is indeed disease.

-What kind of bulb(s) do you have in there? Brands and wattage if you know.
    -Do you have a UVB producing bulb?

-What are the temperatures at the basking sites? (only measure these with a digital thermometer or tempgun).

-What kind of substrate (bedding) are you using?