Need armadillo lizard info please!

Discussion in 'General Lizards' started by jesterx626, Feb 22, 2007.

1. jesterx626

jesterx626 New Member

Hi i'm new to lizards, im deciding either a colored beardie or a armadillo lizard. Why? Cause it looks badass! Fully armored body and a spiked tail, my kinda lizard. I originally bought a 75 gal tank, 48 inch long x 18 inch wide, 20.5 inch tall, for a male beardie, now I'm thinkin of a armadillo lizard.

What type of light bulb should I have? Megaray?

How should my tank be setup?

Is sand substrate ok? Cause I know with beardie owners, they get real touchy about this.

How many can I have in my 75 gal?

How peaceful are they?

Do they bite?

It's ok to handle them correct?

What do they eat?

Are they skittish?

Would they run away if I try to handle them?

Do they recognize their owner?

What else am I missing that I should know?

Thanks!

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. Laika

Laika New Member

hehe they remind me of pokemin for some reason!! cool pet.

I've never owned one, but looking around the net I found a few pages..

This page has a photo of a set up on it..
    http://www.dcpaleo.org/Leisure/Animals/LizardsArmadillo.html

I would say that sand is never ok for any reptile.... Years ago when I first starteed keeping leo's I had 2 die from impaction... its better to be safe that sorry I guess and use tile/slate or something similar...

I found this out..
    Use a full spectrum UVB light; this will output good UV rays for calcium absorption so that it can digest its food better. The UVB light should be used for 8-10 hours of ultraviolet lighting. This can be maintained by using a timer.
    Temperature
    The daytime temperature should be between 75-85 degrees. The Basking area should have a temperature from 90-100 degrees. At nighttime the temperature should be 70-75 degrees.
    Humidity
    Humidity should be at 45%
    Food