Need help with Hornworm Pupae (tips, advice!)

Discussion in 'Site Feedback & Questions' started by Godzilla1487, Apr 15, 2014.

1. Godzilla1487

Godzilla1487 New Member

Hello everybody I am new to reptile boards and I've got a question and am wondering if anybody can help me out/give me advice about my hornworm pupae. I originally started with 9 hornworm pupae and after about 4 weeks 1 moth emerged (which I'm pretty sure is a male). Also I have 8 other ones from which the moths have not emerged. This I my first time rearing hornworms and with the pupae over time I have seen a significant darkening of shell. What I'm wondering is this normal? The first to emerge pupae was like this but I'm wondering why these are taking longer (6 weeks almost) I'm wondering if and when these hawkmoths will emerge and if they may have entered diapause. They're still gradually darkening and are becoming delicate and crunchy but enough to remain intact. I've also seen the thorax of the moths recede and shrink in the cocoons. Their is no foul odor so I'm assuming they're still viable and close to hatching but am not entirely sure. Let me know if this differs from any of your experience and any other help/advice on raising the eggs/larvae would be greatly appreciated. Also am currently incubating some silkworm eggs and am wondering if the husbandry is similar to that of these silkworms (beside the diet!) Also the pupae will move from time to time if disturbed but I have seen a large decrease in activity.

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

Hi Godzilla1487, welcome to the boards!

What are the conditions you are keeping your hornworm pupae under? What temperatures, day:light cycle, and are they buried in substrate or not?