New Here, have a Whites Tree Frog and Questions

Discussion in 'Treefrogs' started by Tazwell, Oct 1, 2006.

1. Tazwell

Tazwell Embryo

Hello, this is my first time posting here :D So forgive me for anything I do wrong... And forgive the obnoxiously long post...

Anyway, I have a Whites Tree frog, and I've had him/her for 8 years. I understand that their lifespan is roughly 15 years, and I know she (for the sake of simplicity, I'm calling him/her a girl.) was full grown when I got her. Somebody had brought her to the Pet Store because they no longer wanted her. I just couldn't resist buying her, since they had her in a little tiny critter keeper with aquarium gravel and water, nearly drowning her in the water...

Back to the point. I've been keeping her in a 10 gallon tank, with some kind of moss that I bought at the petstore, a fake tree branch, a log, and a water dish. I used to have a few fake plants in there, but she never climbed on them. I spray the tank a few times a day with a water bottle, and I have a normal work light with a 40 or 60 (it's inconsistent...) bulb on the tank every day, and I turn it off at night. I feed her roughly 2 large crickets every other night.

I know I haven't been providing the best of care for her, she seems more inactive than she should be (even this type of frog is normally somewhat inactive, right?) I mean, she eats like a pig, but she never climbs or anything. No matter what I give her to climb on. She simply perches on that little log, that is under the light. I've seen her climb up the glass a few times, too.

I would just like to know what I am doing wrong that I can fix, and what kind of light, substrate and Decorations/plants I should provide her with? I know for a fact she should be in a larger tank, I am considering moving her to a 20gal tall tank. Would she enjoy company? Another whites tree frog?

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. nuggular

nuggular Well-Known Member

First off, welcome.