new to uro's...sorry for long post :P

Discussion in 'Uromastyx' started by geckofreak04, Jul 24, 2012.

1. geckofreak04

geckofreak04 New Member

Hi, I'm new to owning uro's, but not reptiles (bearded's, leo's, water dragons, house gecko's, ball pythons)...I acquired him/her yesterday under unexpected circumstances, and lets just say I've been busy trying to make him happy...his enclosure is currently bare minimum (maybe a bit small) but have plans to build a bigger one (6x1.5x1.5 stacked with 2 leo habitats...where I'll use the heat from the uro to provide under tank heat for the leos)

Long story short, I was in a pet store that doesn't carry reptiles, and this lady dropped him off without caring that the store couldn't provide for him, so the owner just gave him to me :), happy dance

I went to a different store to get supplies for him and I left with a 160W Solar Glo Mercury Vapor Bulb (which he seems to really love!), it's brought up the tank temp to 80F in the coldest spot in the tank, and the hot spot is unknown as it's above the max reading of the probe thermometer (which is 122F) but from the way he is acting, I don't think it's too hot as he just lays under it, basking like it's the best thing in the world :)