New viv set up

Discussion in 'Leopard Geckos' started by Leopardgran, Sep 5, 2013.

1. Leopardgran

Leopardgran New Member

I'm new to gecko keeping so I hope I'm doing everything right (with your help ;-))

I have had my Leo in a rub since I had him about a month ago. Since which time I have been given a wooden vivarium :). I have set it up today and so far all I've added is a Habistat Proportional Pulse Thermostat - laid the sensor on top of the subtrate inside the warm hide (which the UTH is under). I have a digital thermometer of which I have laid the sensor on the cool side floor. I also have a Red Night Bulb inside the viv but will only use it for a little while at night as I don't want it to get too warm for him ;-) I have the UTH set at 30c.

I hope this is ok - I won't transfer the Leo for a day or so to see how it goes. Please let me know if I've missed out anything.

Many thanks - I await your comments and advice

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. StikyPaws312

StikyPaws312 Moderator

Welcome to Reptile Boards! The set-up sounds good so far! I would suggest waiting a day or 2 to see how the new tank and set-up is - see if the temps are stable, etc. before moving your little guy in to it.

Something that would help us evaluate your set-up would be answering these questions...
    1. What substrate are you using?
    2. What sized enclosure do you have your leo in?
    3. How many hides do you have for your leo? What are they?
    4. What food have you offered?
    5. How often do you offer food?
    6. Are you supplementing the food? If so, with what and how often?
    7. How old is your leo?
    8. How long have you had your leo?
    9. Give a little detail about the behaviour of the Leo also

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. Leopardgran

Leopardgran New Member

1 - Its Cork Sheeting cut to size - the type people use to mount model railway tracks to or make notice boards out of?
    2 - 22" x 15" wooden viv