Please Answer My Question Once and For All!

Discussion in 'Treefrogs' started by ExSxP, Nov 11, 2006.

1. ExSxP

ExSxP Member

Okay, I'm kinda new to tree frogs, okay, pretty much new, and have an adult male White's Tree Frog. My question is: What is the optimal tank temperature for him? and how come his color has only been brown since i've got him?

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. theprayerposition

theprayerposition New Member

I would keep the cage temperature in the upper 70's to the mid 80's, if you reach 90 you're too hot. As far as the frog's color there are a number of reasons why it would be brown. Some White's are completely brown, to blue, to green, however brown can possibly represent stress. If you give us a detailed description of your cage/a picture, and some feeding/watering habits we might be able to tell you if there is something in existence that is stressing it.

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. Reptile_Mann

Reptile_Mann New Member

They always change colours but its possible it could be stress.

6. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

7. nuggular

nuggular Well-Known Member

mid 80s is too high for WTFs. They do best in room temps. 72F - 78F. When you get over 80F they can get stressed out and if its too warm for too long, they can die.

Whites go from dark brown to light green. Color can mean many things. And if you just got the frog, it could be because of stress, or just because it wants to be brown.

Just make sure to change your water everyday. Feed everyother day.

8. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

9. theprayerposition

theprayerposition New Member

10. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

11. ExSxP

ExSxP Member

thanks guys, i will post a pic of my setup very soon. I guess I'll describe it for now.