Proper care of Gravid Boas!

Discussion in 'Boas' started by scooter1685, Apr 8, 2009.

1. scooter1685

scooter1685 New Member

I suppose I should start at the beginning. I've been keeping snakes for about 16 years, but I've only been keeping boas for about the past 4 and a half years. I have several books on the proper care and maintenance of boas, and I've read them all. However, nothing compares to hands-on experience, lol.

Last year I bred my 3 year, 5 and 1/2 foot anerythristic columbian male (Ambrosius) to my 5 year 7 foot female columbian red-tail (Kalypso). It was my first breeding attempt EVER! I wasn't trying to achieve any rare or special morphs or anything (obviously), I just think it would be nifty to breed my snakes. Like a new area to expand my herpetocultural hobby into. I have a friend who owns a pet store that will be buying the babies from me, so I don't need to worry about finding homes for all of them. But I digress. The breeding went well. I stopped feeding and decreased their photoperiod starting in November. I lowered the temperature gradually, but only a little so that one end of the terrarium was 72 degrees and the other end was 80 for each snake. Early in December I put Ambrosius into Kalypso's terrarium. I witnesed copulation several times, so there certainly was breeding.