Proper handling method?? n00b.

Discussion in 'Ball Pythons' started by Maelstrom78, Sep 23, 2006.

1. Maelstrom78

Maelstrom78 Embryo

Hi everyone.. Im pretty new to ball pythons and just got my first baby male last night. Hes a little over 2 months old.. Ive been reading posts on this site for a long time and ive read all the care sheets 10x over and made sure all my husbandry issues are taken care of.. I also have a Bearded Dragon i got 4 months ago when he was about 6 weeks old who is doing amazingly well and is up too 14 inches long now :) Anyhow to my question.. I was wondering the "proper" way to actually put my hand in his tub in to pick him up.. and where on his body should i first lift him from? Like i said i just got him last night and already hes out exploring and just being a very curious boy.. Ive handled him 2x since i got him.. once last night and once this morning and both times he was very good and didnt bite or strike at me.. I just wanna make sure im holding him in a way thats comfortable for him..
    Thanks in advance everyone and ill post some pics as soon as i get some more batteries for my digicam. :D
    Also were not quite sure what to name him yet.. maybe you guys can help us there too hehe.. Weve narrowed it down to
    1. Hades
    2. Bagheera (Jungle Book)
    3. Leviathan
    4. Abbath
    5. Bruce (after Bruce Campbell) or perhaps Ash would be more fitting hehe.

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. Al99

Al99 New Member

I allways lifted mine up with both hands depending on how big he is in about the middle of his body. A two month old can't be that big, so I would use one hand (unless you feel more comfertable with two hands).

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. tmx

tmx New Member