Question for Ball owners

Discussion in 'Ball Pythons' started by JFJ, Feb 7, 2005.

1. JFJ

JFJ Embryo

I am looking to purchase a ball python, I am new to snakes and i have been reading some of the posts on this forum saying that balls are not good for first snakes. Corns and kings are recommended, but i honestly dont like the look of those types of snakes.

With that being said i was planning on getting a captive breed ball because it seems that (from what i have read) they are less picky eaters. I have been looking on the web for breeders and came across a few like ( http://www.jsreptiles.com/index.htm / Bob Clark ) is this a good route to go? They are asking $50 and up which i am fine with. Local pet stores like petsmart are selling them for $75, but i am leery of buying for a chain pet store.

Any input would be greatly appreciated

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. Ed_r

Ed_r Member

Never buy and animal from a petsmart, pet co, or other chain pet store, the BPs are all w/c or as their selling term is now "Farm Raised" lol (That name still makes me chuckle)

If i were you i would look for a Loacal herp show. then you could see the snake your going to get. Yeah there are some uscrupulous dealers out there that will claim to have c/b Ball pythons and in reality they are w/c. But at least you can see them in person without the surprise of getting them shipped. While I personally dont care for Bob Clark since hes basically a puppy farm for Burmese pythons. Big names like that are usually reputable people to buy from.

Unfortunately its Buyer beware. BUT on the good note, IF you do your homework. and IF you have your cage set up properly, and IF you read through everyone elses dilemas, and solutions offered.... it really doesn't matter cuz your Ball python WILL eat.

Notice i say IF allot. These IF's are rarely done before a snake is brought into a home.