Re-post from General Intros - LG concerns....

Discussion in 'Leopard Geckos' started by JuStaWRX, Mar 3, 2014.

1. JuStaWRX

JuStaWRX Embryo

Hello!

I am new to the forum, and am looking forward to learning more about reptiles!

I am a K-6 teacher in the Twin Cities (Minnesota), and about 1 1/2 months ago, I bought two Leopard Geckos for my classroom. Their names are Chimi and Churri.

I am joining to learn more about Leopard Geckos, and plan to build a pretty elaborate habitat for them in the coming weeks.

My big concern at the moment is that Churri has not been eating, and has been quite lethargic for about a week. He sleeps most of the day in his hiding space. I found a thread earlier about checking temps etc. They are both in the same tank, and have a diet of meal worms and crickets. The temp has ranged from about 75-85* F since I got them. My current idea is to borrow a tank to separate the two and see if that makes a difference. Chimi is growing and eating quite well, but I am concerned about Churri. Any further suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. dogking

dogking HOTM Winner September

Hello and welcome to the boards! Let me start off by saying thank you for helping to educate the next generation on how awesome reptiles can be! It sounds to me like your problem could be a combination of two things. The temps at the warm end of the tank should be around 88-92 degrees. If the temps are lower than that, the leos can have trouble getting enough energy and digesting their meals which will lead to impaction, lethargy, ect. Also, it could be a case of cage dominance. Are you watching them eat or do you just leave the food in their cage? It sounds like Churri isn't getting enough food and is becoming stressed. I would recommend separating them and raising their temps. Keep us updated!

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. JuStaWRX

JuStaWRX Embryo