Strange Tiny worms in cricket cage!? URGENT.

Discussion in 'Anoles' started by ReptiCanineGirl, Jul 4, 2011.

1. ReptiCanineGirl

ReptiCanineGirl Embryo

Today I was getting ready to calcium dust some crickets to feed to my anoles when I noticed some little TINY worm things on the inside of one of the caps on the tubes that I take out of the cage to deposit the crickets into the anole tank. It's worrying me, because I have had no experience with parasites infesting my anoles. All of my anoles are fine so far, but I have fed them crickets from the current bath already. I purchase the crickets from Petsmart, if that helps any. I just really want to know what these things are, because I need to feed my lizards (I do have backup mealworms, but I hate giving them those). :unsure:

I'll describe the little worms again. They look very similar to maggots, but are way smaller, and somewhat pointy. They look JUST like the one here -

AAAHHHH!!!.jpg

I'm actually almost positive they are fruit fly larva after seeing that picture of one. Is this bad? How do I remove them? So far, I have only seen them on one little area, but I'm worried. Should I throw out all of those crickets and purchase new ones? Please, help!

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. ReptiCanineGirl

ReptiCanineGirl Embryo

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. Cammy

Cammy ReptileBoards Addict