Unactive Green Anole

Discussion in 'Anoles' started by burningwillow, Aug 25, 2008.

1. burningwillow

burningwillow Embryo

I am new with reptiles and thought anoles are a good place to start. I got my first anole, Zephyr, yesterday from a pet store (I know the best place to buy them but better than most places) she is pretty thin (you can see her ribs) but is eating fine and seems alert and healthy but hasn't been very active and has been brown for a couple of hours now. She has just been just resting and basking and not much else. I have noticed that the temperature has dropped a little. Could it just be the tempeature is too low, or she is still getting over the stress of moving, has anyone else had this happen?

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. justkev

justkev Hi :) Staff Member

what is the current temp?

Just make sure you provide plenty of climbing and hiding areas.. if it is already eating thats great.. just give it some time to settle in.

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. burningwillow

burningwillow Embryo

the current temp is around 87 degrees fahrenhiet and a little higher in the basking area. It's around 85% humidity and has climbing area and hiding places but half the time she is basking on the ground.

6. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

7. justkev

it would be rare for a green anole to bask on the ground.. lower the overall temp a bit and see if that changes where it basks. how large is the cage you have it in?

8. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

9. burningwillow

burningwillow Embryo

It's a ten gallon. Zephry started basking on the plants now and isn't brown any more. I got some wax worms today because I heard that they are high in fat and Zephyr is pretty thin. The wax worms look to big for her so do you know if I could cut them in half?

10. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

11. justkev