water habits

Discussion in 'Other Pythons' started by PaulFE, Feb 8, 2005.

1. PaulFE

PaulFE Embryo

my ball python spends a lot of time in his water dish. Today I came home from work and he was completely submerged (head and all). I watched him for a while but when he didnt come up for air for a while i got nervous and took him out of the water. He was very lethargic afterwards. My question is is this normal behavior? Can ball pythons stay underwater for long periods of time? Or is my snake suicidal?

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. shrap

shrap ReptileBoards Addict

Have you done a thorough check for mites? How long have you had him?

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. Janice

Janice ReptileBoards Addict

Is he shedding? That doesn't sound normal to me, but I am new to snake ownership. Our Bp is usually just in and out of his bowl.

6. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

7. PaulFE

PaulFE Embryo

he does have a couple of mites, i have just recently treated his cage for them, so they may be dead. But he has gotten mites twice now and he never really spent much time in the water, he just goes in , washes them off, then gets out. He just finished shedding so i Know that is not it. I have had him for about 3 months now.

8. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

9. shrap

shrap ReptileBoards Addict

Mites are a real pain to get rid of. And one of the biggest indicators is prolonged soaking. Particularly when they dunk their heads for long periods. It usually means they have mites in their eyes and their pits as well as just on their body. Treating for mites is a long process. You can't treat just once or twice. You have to treat everything multiple times over a month or longer if needed. The enclosure (inside and out) the stand the enclosure is on. Everything inside the enclosure (water dishes, hides, limbs, etc), the snake. EVERYTHING.

10. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

11. jambooti

jambooti New Member