A "Step Up" from a Ball Python?

Discussion in 'General Snakes' started by Crazy4Herps, Jan 1, 2009.

1. Crazy4Herps

Crazy4Herps Hooked on Reptiles

I have researched so many different snake species, though in experiance I am still a beginner, my only snake being my ball python I've had for 9mo.

I really want a new snake! My #1 choice would without doubt be a red tail or columbian boa, but I'm not allowed to have such a big snake... family stuff.

I've been considering a Brazilian Rainbow Boa, and they sound ideal for me, though they are perhaps above my price range. :D And I'd like to keep open-minded about this.

Then I was really really really really into Blood and Borneo Pythons. That is still a major possibility.

My conditions (sorry, I have a lot, but there are lots of people around my house and I have limited space, money, etc):
    -Under 5.5ft (not my rule, I'm dying for a big snake) (meaning I'd probably get a male of whatever species I choose)
    -Could live in a bin with a max of 8 sq. feet of floorspace and as much height as needed. OR, could live in a small (40 gallon max) glass tank.
    -Under $300 ($300 would be very hard to pull off. However, please mention snakes above this price, though it probably wouldn't be a possibility)
    -Captive bred (cannot emphasize enough)
    -Somewhat tame (I'm find with nippy hatchlings, but I don't want any serious injuries) (no more aggressive than a Blood Python)
    -Pretty easy to care for. No more than five minutes daily, handling not included.
    -Handle-able. I will handle all of my reptiles every day (with shedding/after-eating exceptions of course)

Maybe a carpet python? What do you guys think?

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. teiryklav

teiryklav Member

this is hard, blood python can go for 8ft, for female, and 6ft for male, and i've told you that they're incredibly strong,, so i didnt really suggest u to have that thing,, btw are u female/male? age?