Crazy Arse Tokay

Discussion in 'Tokay Geckos' started by Zuligin, Dec 13, 2004.

1. Zuligin

Zuligin Embryo

I'm new to the Tokay scene... so this one caught me off guard.

My little guy, Toast, is quite fond of his pinkies.. So last night I scored a few from work and brought them home. Tossing one it, I left it at that and headed for bed, only to be awoken later in the night by a loud thumping. I got up to check it out, and Toast was up on the wall of his enclosure, pinkie in mouth and slamming it soundly against the glass beneath him. I guess I startled him, cause he dropped it.. minus a leg though. He ate it earlier today.. but I guess I just wasn't expecting him to be like that. My roomie has a Tokay as well... but he's never done anything quite like that...

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. Oscar

Oscar Member

lol.... the more I read about Tokays the madder they seem to me....

and hey, Howdy Neighbour.... I used to live in Dartmouth and Halifax, graduated from the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design longer ago than I care to admit, enjoyed my years there though

Cory

4. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

5. Zuligin

Zuligin Embryo

Hehe... The Tokays I've seen are quite angry fellows... Mine has tried to swallow my roomies thumb when he picked him up... and his own drew blood on mulitple occasions. Ornery lil varmits they are..

6. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

7. nuggular

nuggular Well-Known Member

Ya my tokays are very nippy. Zuligin, you might not want to leave a pinkie mouse in there for as long as you stated. They can start to rot and might not be healthy for your tokay to eat. I give it like and hour and if it isnt gone, take it out. Only feed him about 1-2 pinkies a month as they are very high in fat. My tokays live off of large crickets and giant mealworms. And about 1 pinkie a month as a treat.

8. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

9. BSB

BSB Well-Known Member