Good Or Bad??

Discussion in 'Monitors & Tegus' started by Reptile_Mann, Nov 2, 2006.

1. Reptile_Mann

Reptile_Mann New Member

Hey everyone, well i wanted to know from a good professional with moniters and if it is good to feed your miniter rodents or not, i hear its good i hear its bad, i really want to hear from someone good, so is it??

2. JEFFREH

JEFFREH Administrator

3. JBCT

JBCT New Member

It depends on who you ask.

I am not a professional monitor breeder. But I have kept and bred monitors on what could be considered an amateur level for many years. I do not make my living breeding monitors. Currently I have argus(2), ackies(6) and black roughnecks(2). When I first started I kept the more common ones like savannahs,niles and waters. As you grow in the hobby you discover the animals that really peak your interest. Right now for me its ackies, argus and roughnecks as far as monitors go. I have successfully produced ackies and argus. My roughnecks have bred and layed eggs but so far the eggs havent hatched :(. Im not sure why still working on that. I may need a new male, I dont know. But thats for another thread.

For many years rodents were considered a staple for just about any reptile large enough to eat them. Lately I have read that rodents can be harmful to to some animals. Some claim its the fur. Others the fat content. Personally I dont think its the rodents I think the problems are with bad husbandry and mainly insufficient temperatures and hydration.

I cant imagine a full grown argus, nile or other large monitor having a problem digesting a mouse unless it didnt have access to high enough temperatures/hydration to allow normal bodily functions. Monitors are garbage cans. The majority of them will eat just about anything including carrion. Ive read some articles that say the diet of wild savannahs is almost 100% insects. What? You're telling me a wild savannah who comes across a nice rodent or bird wont eat it? No way.